Be Light and Healthy

Thanksgiving Day

Posted on: November 25, 2010

Just a quick blog to wish everyone a happy Thanksgiving and thank you for reading the Be Light and Healthy blogs.  In addition, I’d like to share a few strategies that I employ to successfully navigate the day:

  • Eat a good breakfast.  Instead of skipping breakfast and becoming ravenously hungry, I eat a healthy breakfast.
  • Eat lots of healthy vegetables.  In the old days I used to forego the healthy food in favor of desserts and would end up feeling sluggish for days.  Inevitably, this would also set me up to spiral downward into a long weekend of bingeing.  Now I eat lots of vegetables and indulge in a small dessert.  This strategy results in satisfying my hunger, increasing my energy, keeping me on track, and fulfilling my desire for something sweet. 
  • If you get hungry before your big dinner, eat a piece of fruit to take the edge off your hunger.  An apple really works for me and prevents me from devouring the first unhealthy item that tempts me.
  • Drink lots of water.  This helps me to feel full.    
  • If you’re drinking alcohol, drink a glass of water between alcoholic beverages.  This helps me reduce the amount of alcohol I indulge in.
  • Prior to eating, take a moment to give thanks for the food on the table.  If you don’t feel comfortable making a big production out of expressing your gratitude, you can pause and do it silently.
  • If you choose to indulge in a dessert, take a moment and consciously make your selection.  After you make your decision, enjoy it and savor every bite so that you truly feel guilt-free and satisfied.  
  • Take a walk.  Taking a walk in the morning and reflecting on the many things I’m thankful for helps to ground me for the day.  I also like to take a walk after dinner.  Setting my intention to take a walk after dinner helps to alleviate overeating at dinner because if I overate, I would be too uncomfortable to walk.  Inviting your friends and family members to take a walk with you can make the experience even more enjoyable.  Even if these walks are short, they will be beneficial. 
  • Be aware of picking at food before and after it’s served.  Small bites here and there throughout the day will add up. 
  • Be mindful of traditional behaviors that have become habits.  Just because you previously arrived for Thanksgiving dinner in auto-pilot mode ready to sample every dessert does not mean that you have to repeat the behavior again this year.    
  • Focus on all the positive elements of the day and enjoy the time spent with friends and family.  Putting your attention on all the positive choices you make today will create positive momentum and help keep it flowing.     
  • Remain conscious of the choices you make and imagine how wonderful it will feel when you wake up tomorrow knowing that you enjoyed the day and maintained your healthy habits.  Foregoing the instant gratification of overindulging in unhealthy food today will result in lasting satisfaction when you wake up tomorrow and acknowledge that you stayed on track.  Today’s healthy choices will assist you in remaining on track throughout the holiday season.   

I invite you to be mindful of the choices you make today in anticipation of the benefits you will reap tomorrow and in the days to come.  Thank you again for taking the time to read the Be Light and Healthy blogs.  In addition, I invite you to sign up for weekly e-mail updates to get informed and inspired to Be Light and Healthy.

1 Response to "Thanksgiving Day"

Great strategies Paula! Have a wonderful Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

Be Light and Healthy

The intention of this blog is to share information and inspire people to Be Light and Healthy.

Pages

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 30 other followers

