Be Light and Healthy

Up, Up, And Away……..

Posted on: October 17, 2010

“Let your mind start a journey thru a strange new world.  Leave all thoughts of the world you knew before.  Let your soul take you where you long to be…Close your eyes let your spirit start to soar, and you’ll live as you’ve never lived before.”  Erich Fromm

Two weeks ago we went on a hot air balloon ride.  It was amazing.  As we floated through the air looking down on the world, I was filled with a sense of peacefulness and gratitude. 

Years ago when I was heavy, I never would have gone on a balloon ride.  For one thing, I don’t know how I would have hoisted myself into the balloon.  I’m sure getting into the balloon would have been difficult but physically possible; however, I would have found the anxiety and embarrassment unbearable.  I would not have wanted to draw attention to myself and would have worried about infringing on other people’s space.  I used to dread flying in an airplane because the seats are so small.  Prior to losing weight, I expended a lot of energy being afraid to do things.  Physically, there were things that I never would have attempted.  When we vacationed at a dude ranch, I never even considered getting on a horse.  And let me tell you, this dude ranch is not a spa; it’s a working cattle ranch in the middle of nowhere with one dial-up internet connection, which means that if you don’t ride horses, there’s not much else to do.  I remember being in tears and asking myself “What have I gotten myself into?” as we drove up the 5 mile dirt road to the ranch.  

That was the world I knew.  A world permeated with fear and a desire to be unseen.  You see, even though I was weighted down by an extra 100 pounds, I tried very hard to make myself invisible.  Hmmm, I was living a paradoxical life – trying not to be seen but so large that there was no way to go unnoticed.  It was impossible to melt into the background when I was carrying around extra weight that was essentially equal to that of a small person.  All the worrying about what other people thought provided fuel for the heavy and dark thoughts in my head that burdened my spirit.  Even when I started walking, I was self-conscious because I didn’t want anyone to see me. 

Because I had been heavy my entire life, I couldn’t imagine what being physically lighter would be like.  Honestly, it was scary for me.  Whenever I had previously lost weight, I received attention from people.  I realize that most people like to be complimented on their weight loss, but I’m not one of them.  Throughout my life, my desire has always been to quietly fly under the radar.  Because of my fear, slowly easing into this strange, new world was the strategy that worked for me. 

I believe that being light and healthy pertains to more than just weight.  It pertains to a lightness of thinking and a lightness of spirit in addition to going with the flow and not getting burdened with life’s little details.  Getting bogged down in mental garbage weighed me down emotionally and spiritually.  Before I could lighten my physical load, I had to lighten my thinking.  It would take time before I began to feel physically lighter, but I was able to lighten my spirit in an instant by changing the thoughts associated with those voices in my head.  When I released the negative voices and replaced them with kindness, my mind was instantly lighter.  I cannot emphasize enough how treating myself with kindness facilitated my physical transformation.  We are often so harsh and judgmental when it comes to ourselves that it is helpful to consider how we would speak to a small child.  I think of children as magnificent little beings and believe that is how we should think of ourselves.  We speak to children with kindness and endeavor to nurture their spirits.  I strive to treat myself with the same amount of compassion and consideration that I would show a small child.        

As my mind and spirit got lighter, my body followed suit.  I felt like my soul was beginning to soar.  I’ve adapted to my wonderful new world, and it no longer feels strange.  In fact, I have to pause for a moment to recall what my life used to be like.  I believe that easing into a healthier lifestyle and taking the time to slowly adapt were keys to my success and encourage people to adopt whatever strategy works best for them.  

I truly am living like I never lived before and am so grateful for this strange and wonderful new world.  I am happy to report that I spryly climbed into the hot air balloon and jumped out of it unassisted last week.  Though I’ll never be a cowgirl, I do go horseback riding when we vacation at the dude ranch.  These are things that I never would have experienced if I hadn’t chosen to slowly change my life and leave my old world behind.   

I invite you to nurture yourself by changing your thoughts and speaking to yourself with kindness.  Your spirit will immediately be lightened, and it will ease your path to physical lightness. Eventually, you will be able to close your eyes and imagine a wonderful new world.  In addition, I invite you to sign up for e-mail updates to get informed and inspired to Be Light and Healthy.

Leave a Reply

Be Light and Healthy

The intention of this blog is to share information and inspire people to Be Light and Healthy.

Pages

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 30 other followers

