Be Light and Healthy

Transitions

Posted on: September 19, 2010

“The secret of getting ahead is getting started.  The secret of getting started is breaking your complex overwhelming tasks into manageable tasks, and then starting on the first one.”  Mark Twain

Transitioning to a healthier way of life can be similar to nature’s transition to a new season.  Darkness expands and slowly creeps up on us though we often remain unaware of it as we hurry through our daily lives.  Slowly incorporating healthier choices into our daily routines can have the same effect.  By slowly making small positive changes, we create new habits and abandon the old ones.  Suddenly, you realize that a new behavior has become a habit.  And it’s a wonderful feeling when you come to this realization. 

When I embarked upon my weight loss journey, I decided to drink more water.  At the time I primarily drank diet soda, and abruptly replacing my soda consumption with water would have been too overwhelming so I broke it down into small tasks.  I started by transitioning to fizzy, flavored water – in my mind it was a good compromise between drinking soda and drinking plain water.  In addition, I gave up my daily cup of coffee because there was no way I could drink it in addition to eight glasses of water a day.  I kept track of how many glasses of water I drank and congratulated myself when I reached my daily goal.  Gradually, I started to drink plain water.  Today, I sip water all day and can intuitively tell how much I need to drink.  One thing I find very comforting is to sip hot/warm water all day.  On the rare days that I am distracted and neglect to drink water, I start feeling sluggish and my body begins to crave it.  By pausing for a moment and investigating how I feel, I’ve learned to recognize these feelings as signals that my body needs more water. 

Water is essential to the human body, which can only exist for days without it.  According to Joshua Rosenthal, founder of the Institute for Integrative Nutrition, our bodies are 75% water.  There are many reported benefits to drinking water:

  • Eliminates headaches
  • Helps to eliminate pain
  • Decreases high blood pressure
  • Prevents premature aging
  • Lessens symptoms of PMS
  • Keeps the skin moist and radiant
  • Flushes toxins out of the body

Trying some of the following suggestions may help you to incorporate more water into your daily routine: 

  • When you feel sluggish or hungry, pause for a moment and consider that you may be craving water.   
  • Drink hot or warm water – plain, with lemon, with a cinnamon stick, or with a tablespoon of apple cider vinegar.
  • Fill a water bottle in the morning and sip it all day long.
  • Add some fruit juice to your water for added flavor.
  • Use your tea bag multiple times to reduce the strength of the tea and get closer to drinking plain water. 
  • Drink carbonated water.
  • Drink water early in the day to minimize disrupting your sleep. 

Most importantly, remember that transitions take time and be gentle with yourself

I invite you to reflect on the beauty of nature’s small, graceful changes as she transitions into another season and know that by making small changes you will reach your goal of living a healthier life.  In addition, I invite you to sign up for e-mail updates to get informed and inspired to Be Light and Healthy.

1 Response to "Transitions"

Great tips! There is a tremendous amount of good water in fruits and vegetables as well.

Leave a Reply

Be Light and Healthy

The intention of this blog is to share information and inspire people to Be Light and Healthy.

Pages

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 30 other followers

