Be Light and Healthy

Small Steps = Big Results

Posted on: August 22, 2010

 “It is better to take many small steps in the right direction than to make a great leap forward only to stumble backward.”  Old Chinese Proverb

When I came across Dr. Andrew Weil on TV years ago, I didn’t realize that I was about to start a life-changing and exciting adventure.  At the time I was lugging around an extra 100 Pounds, and it was exhausting.  I remember a London vacation where I couldn’t keep up with my husband and swore I couldn’t walk another step due to excruciating back pain.  I was on a fantastic vacation and having a miserable time because of my burdensome and unhealthy weight.  As my weight increased, I was making small changes to accommodate the weight without even realizing it.  Always taking the elevator and parking close to my destination just became a way of life.  Eating a donut every morning was just part of my routine.  I had become resigned to my unhealthy lifestyle and was unconsciously going through life on autopilot. 

Losing a large amount of weight or radically changing your lifestyle can seem like a daunting task.  Sometimes it helps to just mull the idea around in your mind and get used to it.  By thinking about making changes, you begin to open your mind and soften it to other possibilities.  In Eight Weeks to Optimum Health Dr. Weil suggests experimenting with small lifestyle changes for a week at a time to determine if you’d like to incorporate them into your life.  His suggestions truly were small and required little effort.  One of the first things I opted to try was parking one space further away from the building every day.  I also tried incorporating healthier foods into my life.  Eventually, I ended up at the outskirts of the parking lot, where I still park today.  It’s so ingrained in me now that I never even consider parking close to a building.  And I can honestly say I have no desire for a donut.  These changes did not occur overnight; they very gradually became routine like brushing my teeth.      

The positive effects of these small steps trickled into my life nurturing my spirit and fostering the idea that my weight loss goal was possible.  It’s like you wake up one day and say to yourself, “Hey, I can’t remember the last time I had a donut.  And you know what – I don’t even want one.”  When this realization hits you, an amazingly comforting sense of accomplishment settles upon you.   

Because my lifestyle changed slowly over time, I truly do have to pause to remember what my life used to be like and express my gratitude for what it’s become.  Vacations are now the wonderful experiences they are meant to be.  In addition, I have very active young nephews who I love and adore playing with.  If I had not chosen to improve my health, it is highly doubtful that I would be as active as I am with them.  Yes, I would have loved them just as much; but essentially, they would have had a very different aunt, one who sat on the sidelines and watched them instead of playing with them and actively taking part in their lives. 

If you’re sitting on the sidelines of your life, I invite you to consider the possibility of making some small changes in your life.  Maybe just start thinking about one or two positive things you could try.  They don’t have to be big things – they can be as small as trying a piece of fruit or walking for five minutes a day.  In addition, I invite you to sign up for e-mail updates to my blog to get informed and inspired to Be Light and Healthy.

Leave a Reply

Be Light and Healthy

The intention of this blog is to share information and inspire people to Be Light and Healthy.

Pages

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 30 other followers

