Be Light and Healthy

Welcome to Be Light and Healthy!

Posted on: August 15, 2010

My name is Paula and I’ve started this blog to share information and inspire people to Be Light and Healthy.  Ten years ago at the age of 37 I weighed over 240 Pounds.  A combination of gradually changing my eating habits, slowly incorporating movement into my life, and being kind to myself resulted in my 100 Pound Weight Loss, which I’ve maintained for over seven years. 

I was an overweight child.  As a teenager, I remember attempting to lose weight by following a 300 Calorie a day diet I created.  I knew nothing about nutrition, and oftentimes, the 300 Calories consisted of a donut.  Yes, I lost a significant amount of weight, but my hair started to fall out.  As you can imagine, it didn’t take long for me to gain all the weight back plus some.  

I spent my 20’s and most of my 30’s trying all the fad diets that came along.  I always started a new program with high hopes and lots of enthusiasm only to abandon reaching my goals because I couldn’t maintain some expert’s diet and exercise regime.  Though I would lose weight, I never reached a “normal” weight and always proceeded to gain the weight back plus some. I had reached a point where it seemed I was content with my life and resigned to the fact that I would always be overweight.

 As I approached 40, I saw my mother’s health deteriorating.  I’ve always been terrified of doctors and hospitals, and it was beginning to dawn on me that my unhealthy habits were bound to catch up with me.  At this time I saw Dr. Andrew Weil on TV promoting his book, Eight Weeks to Optimum Health.  I was interested in what he had to say because he had improved his health by making lifestyle changes and passionately believed people could change.  Hmmm, I started thinking maybe I could change, which eventually progressed to “Wouldn’t it be nice if I lost 100 Pounds by the time I turned 40?”  The deeply buried yearning to be light and healthy had been sparked.  At this stage of the game I wasn’t looking for a quick fix.  For me it had become something more than looking good.  I wanted to be healthy, to be whole.  I began to realize that my body and mind were weighing down my spirit.  Dr. Weil’s balanced approach integrating mind, body, and spirit resonated with me.

Fast forward 10 Years, and I’m a student at Institute for Integrative Nutrition with an amazing life and the intention of helping others.  Now that you know a little about me I invite you to return to my blog to get informed and inspired to Be Light and Healthy.

Leave a Reply

Be Light and Healthy

The intention of this blog is to share information and inspire people to Be Light and Healthy.

Pages

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 30 other followers

